Carolyn likes using Outlook, but there’s an issue that’s driving her crazy.  She writes:

“I have older Office on my desktop and email is easy but on my laptop, have the newer version of Office/Outlook and reading email drives me crazy. I open up each email and if I delete, have go back and open up the next one. On my older version, when I delete a message, the next one opens automatically.”

The layout on newer Outlook is a bit different than with previous versions, but the settings are actually still pretty much the same. Having it skip to the next unread message after you delete is simply a matter of selecting that option. Something you probably did a long time ago on your older version of Outlook. Here’s how to do it.

At the top of the Inbox, click the File tab.

Outlook-file-tab.jpg

From the panel on the left, choose Options.

Outlook-file-options.jpg

When the Outlook Options menu opens, choose Mail.Outlook-file-options-mail.jpg

Scroll all the way down to the bottom of the center panel.

Outlook-file-options-scroll

Under the Other menu, click the drop-down arrow next to After moving or deleting an open item.

Outlook-file-options-other.jpg

Choose Open the next item from the drop-down menu.

Outlook-open-next-items.jpg

Make sure to click OK.