Facebook allows designate a legacy contact for your account, should you pass away. This person will be able to do things like post a goodbye message to your Facebook friends.

Legacy contacts can also respond to new friend requests and update your profile picture and cover photos.  That contact can also download all of the material you’ve shared to Facebook, such as photos and videos.

Facebook may also permit additional capabilities for these contacts in the future.

For now, your legacy contact cannot log into the account, change or remove posts, read private messages or delete friends.

Here’s how to designate your legacy contact.  Click the drop-down arrow in the top right of your Facebook page and select Settings.

Under General select Manage Account.

 

Choose Legacy Contact.

 

You can then select a Facebook friend to be your contact or select to have your account deleted when you pass away.

That person will be notified when your account it memorialized and you can choose to send that person a message right away. You can also choose to permit that person to download your data archive of photos, videos and posts when you’re gone.

The account must be memorialized before this takes effect. To learn about memorializing an account, click here.

To learn about downloading your Facebook archive, click here.

~ Cynthia