Yesterday, I showed you how to turn off pesky LinkedIn email notifications. (You can click here to read that tip.)  Today, I’ll show you how to get rid of your LinkedIn account if you no longer want or need it.

Here’s how to do it. Open a browser, go to LinkedIn.com, and log onto your account.

linked-in-page

Click the Me button at the top-right and choose Settings and Privacy from the drop-down menu.

linked-in-settings-privacy

On the page that opens, click the Account tab.

linked-in-account-tab.jpg

Scroll down to the bottom of the page and choose Closing your LinkedIn account under Account management.

linked-in-choose-to-close.jpg

You’ll be asked to explain why you’re closing the account. But you don’t need to really tell them anything if you don’t want to. Just check Other and write something like “no comment” in the explanation box. However, it’s always nice to give an explanation so they can improve their service.

why-closing-linked-in.jpg

Enter your password and let them know if you want to continue receiving email notices. Then click the Close Account button.

linked-in-closing-password.jpg