Backspace Vs. Delete

Did you know that when typing, delete and backspace are not really the same thing? It’s true!

The backspace key, which I think probably gets used more often, erases letters or characters to the left of (behind) the cursor (that blinking line that shows where you are typing).

But the delete key will delete letters or characters to the right (in front) of  the cursor. I find this helpful especially if I forget to capitalize the first letter of a word, or when I click into the middle of a word to correct my spelling mistakes.

Try it out! I bet you didn’t realize there was a difference.

-Audra

 

4 thoughts on “Backspace Vs. Delete

  1. Seems anyone, even a new computer user, know this basic function. I agree, how does this qualify as a tip?

    1. Actually, Liz this is one of those things that many people know, but not everyone. We’ve recently heard from a couple of people that were confused about the function – so we thought we’d pass it along.

  2. Finally! A tip that I already knew! Please DO keep publishing “elementry” tips – I DO need them.

    I wish I could do the same trick on my phone.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.