Social media is great, but sometimes there are just people you don’t want to deal with. Maybe they’re annoying you, maybe they’re harassing you, or maybe you just don’t have the time to be bothered with a lot of instant messages.

One option is to turn off chat, but maybe there are still some folks you’d like to let through. Let’s take a look at how to take control. Down at the very bottom of your browser on the right side, you’ll see a little gear icon. It can be hard to spot because the gear is dark gray over light gray. Click on that gear.

chat-gear-click

Then select Advanced Settings from the menu.

chat-advanced-settings

Here’s where you can take control.  Choose Turn off chat for all friends and you won’t be notified when a message comes in. The messages will go into your inbox and you can always go back and check them later.

chat-off-for-all-friends

Choose Turn off chat for all friends except… and you can type in the names of friends you’re willing to chat with.

chat-off-everyone-except

This option can be helpful if you’re waiting for some type of family news in a crisis or maybe you’re messaging someone for business, but don’t have time to speak with other people.

Selecting Turn off chat for only some friends allows you to avoid chatting with select friends. You don’t need to unfriend or block them, but you don’t have to be available for instant messaging. Perhaps you friend can be a little too chatty or you just don’t want to deal with something at the moment. Their messages will still go into your inbox and you can check them out later.

turn-off-for-some-friends

The person won’t know that you’ve shut them off. They’ll only see that you’re unavailable to chat right now, but they can still send a message. These settings don’t apply to the Facebook Messenger app on your phone or tablet.

~ Cynthia