A reader wants to know how to stop screenshots from going into Dropbox cloud storage.

“I had Dropbox installed, with the Icon in the Task Bar. I tried doing a Print Screen that was supposed to take a shot of what I’m talking about, I was told it went into the Dropbox but when I went to open it, it started installing all over again. Twice I’ve tried that! Another puzzle for me to try to unravel. I know nothing about Dropbox, this is my first time using it.”

If you aren’t familiar with Dropbox, it’s a cloud storage service much like Microsoft’s One Drive or Google Drive.

You’re probably seeing the issue because you’re double-clicking on the Dropbox app. Instead, find it on the Taskbar and right-click.

drop-box-icon.jpg

This menu will open.

drop-box-menu-windows.jpg

Click the drop-down arrow next to your name at the top right.

dropbox-arrow-by-name.jpg

Select Preferences.

drop-box-preferences.jpg

Click on Import.

dropbox-import.jpg

Under Screenshots, untick the box next to Share screenshots.

uncheck-screenshots.jpg

Make sure to click Apply before closing.