Save and Save As – What's The Difference

Gloria asks:

When I save, I usually hit Control – S. Sometimes when I do that, I get a window that pops up and asks if I want to overwrite my file. Why does it keep popping up, and how can I avoid that?

Hello Gloria.

First of all, good job on using a keyboard shortcut, those are always helpful! That keyboard shortcut is the shortcut for the Save command. When you save a file, it will automatically overwrite the file you previously saved. Sometimes it does not ask if you want to do this, but sometimes it will ask if you want to save those changes. To avoid this, though, you can use the Save As command. There is a keyboard shortcut for Save As, but in this case, it can change from program to program. For this tip, you can just go to the File menu or the home button, (sometimes the Office button), and click Save As.

This will pop up a window that allows you to change the file name.

Notice that the file name at the top of the screen in this screen shot says tips1 but the title in the file name box says tips2. After I click save, I have two different files, the top file is the updated version of the other.

That is the difference between save and save as. Basically, use save to save your changes to the same file. If you want to have the original file plus the changes, use save as. Oh, and if you find that you want to change the location of any file? Save as works for that, too!

-Audra

 

0 thoughts on “Save and Save As – What's The Difference

  1. Audra, I don’t think you answered Gloria’s question, “Why does it keep popping up, and how can I avoid that?”

  2. Although you did give an alternative to the problem your solution would have numerous copies of the document depending on how many times you saved it; each with a save as “new name”

    Is there a way to shut the pop-up message off?

    1. The message pops up to verify that you do want to change the file. It is for the protection of your work, so it will likely not turn off. I actually like the pop up, because that means that I am not losing a file I worked on by accidentally clicking save at the wrong time.

      It will create multiple files, yes. I am not saying this is the way to save every file, as sometimes you do, indeed, want to overwrite the file. The message may not pop up every time on every computer, but if it does, there is not a way to avoid it, per say.

  3. I agree with Doug. The question wasn’t answered. Instead, it was the difference between Save and Save As.

    My guess is that the user is using Save As each time, which will prompt each and every time. Once Save is used, a prompt should no longer show, but if it does, it’s the way the program was written, and I don’t know how to change it, as was pointed out in a later comment.

    For example, I can just click Save in an office program, and it saves it with no prompts, especially if the file already exists. I have a photo program that will prompt me regardless of which one, but the directories for the save are different. I actually like that feature.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.