A reader wanted to know if they needed to deactivate Facebook Messenger after deleting a Facebook account.

It depends. If you’re using Messaging only in a browser on your PC, you should be good. If you’re using the Messenger app on your phone, there are additional steps. The Messenger app is developed by Facebook, but you don’t need a Facebook account to use it. Messenger can be registered with a phone number and used strictly for messaging.

Here’s how to deactivate it on your phone.  Your Facebook account must be deactivated first to use this option. (click here to learn how to deactivate Facebook)  You won’t see it otherwise. Open Messenger and tap your profile pic at the top right.

messenger-pick-your-pic.jpg

Scroll down to Privacy and terms and tap.

messenger-privacy-terms.jpg

If you’ve already deactivated Facebook, you’ll see the option to deactivate Messenger.

de-activate-messenger.jpg

Then go ahead and delete the app from your phone.

If you don’t want to deactivate Facebook and simply just want to turn off the Messaging option in your browser, I’ll show you how to do that tomorrow.