This special bit of silliness is going around again. I’ve seen it posted on Facebook by several friends.

fake-privac-1.jpgfake-privac-2

 

It reads as follows:

“Deadline tomorrow !!! Everything you’ve ever posted becomes public from tomorrow. Even messages that have been deleted or the photos not allowed.

It costs nothing for a simple copy and paste, better safe than sorry.

Channel 13 News talked about the change in Facebook’s privacy policy.

I do not give Facebook or any entities associated with Facebook permission to use my pictures, information, messages or posts, both past and future. With this statement, I give notice to Facebook it is strictly forbidden to disclose, copy, distribute, or take any other action against me based on this profile and/or its contents. The content of this profile is private and confidential information. The violation of privacy can be punished by law (UCC 1-308- 1 1 308-103 and the Rome Statute).

NOTE: Facebook is now a public entity. All members must post a note like this.

If you prefer, you can copy and paste this version.

If you do not publish a statement at least once it will be technically allowing the use of your photos, as well as the information contained in the profile status updates.

DO NOT SHARE. Copy and paste from your own page.”

If you’re a regular reader, you may have already guessed that it is completely untrue. Nobody saw this on Channel 13 news anywhere. And if you share it, you’re willfully misleading your friends.

You control the privacy of your Facebook posts under your privacy settings, not by making posts. Copying and pasting anything anywhere online doesn’t change your user agreement with Facebook or anyone else.

Copying and pasting or sharing is a complete waste of your time and, even worse, a complete waste of your friends’ time. Don’t fall for it.