Today, we’re going to take a look at a Gmail setting that can speed up the syncing between your email account on different devices.
These settings come into play when you have IMAP enabled.
If you aren’t familiar with the term, IMAP stands for Internet Message Access Protocol. This type of server lets you access your e-mail without downloading it to a computer. You can read, edit or delete the messages right on the server. The messages will remain on the server until you choose to delete them. You can access your e-mail from other computers or mobile devices. More and more people are moving to IMAP for the convenience of being able to access their e-mail at any time from any device.
With IMAP enabled, if you delete a message from your phone, it will also be deleted when you check your inbox via a browser from your PC or through an app on your tablet.
To learn how to enable IMAP in Gmail, you can click here.
There are steps you can take to make syncing happen more quickly. Start by clicking the gear at the top-right of your Gmail inbox and choosing Settings from the drop-down menu.
When Settings opens, click the Forwarding and POP/IMAP tab at the top.
If you have IMAP enabled, you’ll see the option to turn on Auto-Expunge. That means when you delete an item it will immediately update the server and that item will be gone from everywhere.
However, if you’re concerned about accidentally deleting something and want the possibility of retrieving it later, you might choose to turn Auto-Expunge off. Then you’ll have three options of what to do with items that have been marked as deleted. Choose to have them archived, moved to the trash, or immediately deleted forever.