3 Things I Love About The Ravenwood Mystery Series


I discovered a new mystery series last month and I couldn’t wait to share it with you. Author Sabrina Flynn posted her cover in a writer’s group we both belong to and I was instantly smitten. Check this out:

Yeah, I know you’re not supposed to judge a book by its cover, but I do what I want, okay. That gorgeous cover is for Book 7 in the Ravenwood Mysteries series, so I decided to begin at the beginning with book one, From The Ashes. Luckily for me, it was free to read with a Kindle Unlimited or Amazon Prime subscription. Sadly, like many other writers, I’m often too busy writing to make time to read. But I made time for this series and let me tell you why I love it.

The Setup

I love me some film-noir and classic detective novels. This series sets it all up perfectly.

  • Tortured detective running from a troubled past? Check!
  • Gaps in his memory? Check!
  • Spirited, beautiful missing heiress with an older wealthy husband? Check!
  • Does the aforementioned detective live in a boarding house stocked with colorful characters? Check!

At this point, I assume you’re already in. But I could add that the main character’s name is Atticus Riot. Atticus. Freaking. Riot. You can either read the rest of this article or start reading the book right now.

Just in case you need a little more convincing, I’ll do a little more praise-singing.

The Setting

How about if I told you this book was set in Victorian-era San Francisco? Yep, ye olde Barbary Coast.

Further, detective Atticus Riot is a former gunfighter! I love historical mysteries, especially ones with loads of potential for fog.

Flynn does a good job of bringing the historical details to life without falling into the trap of making it read like a history lesson.

The movie playing in my head while I read these books looks exactly like an episode of The Wild, Wild West. If you aren’t familiar with that show, you need to start watching just as soon as you read these books.

The Characters

For me, no setting or mystery works unless I love the characters, and I love the main characters. I told you about our tortured detective, Atticus Riot. I’m equally impressed by the unconventional Isobel Kingston.

She’s tough but not so tough that she’s unbelievable. Smart, but not so smart that she doesn’t make a mistake now and again.

As one would hope with a mystery series, there’s a delightful supporting cast of characters.

Best of all for serial readers like me, there are 7 novels in the series! I tell ya, I struck mystery gold here.

Click here to visit author Sabrina Flynn’s website to learn more or head directly to Amazon and buy you some books!

Cyn Mackley writes witty, twisty mysteries and sometimes finds time to read them. Check out her work by clicking here.

3 thoughts on “3 Things I Love About The Ravenwood Mystery Series

  1. i am thrilled with this series and feel delightfully involved with the characters.. I’m just starting book 8 and hope there will be a book 9. San Francisco is my home and Sabrina Flynn does a wonderful job in setting forth its wild and colourful history.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.